

ABINGDON-ON-THAMES TOWN COUNCIL Mayor-Making and Annual Meeting Wednesday 15 May 2024

Report of the Town Clerk on membership of council committees, subcommittees and outside bodies

The following nominations have been made and it will be **proposed** that the following committees are appointed for the period to the next Annual Meeting in May 2025. The terms of reference and size of each committee are detailed in the <u>Scheme of delegation and terms of reference for committees 2021</u>.

Finance, Governance & Asset Management Committee

Cllr Jim Halliday (Chair)
Cllr Elio Astone (Vice Chair)
Cllr Oliver Forder
Cllr Gwyneth Lewis
Chair of the Community Committee
Chair of the Environment and Amenities Committee
Chair of the Town Infrastructure Committee
Mayor, ex officio

Environment and Amenities Committee

Cllr Tom Greenaway (Chair)

Cllr Cheryl Briggs (Vice Chair)

Cllr Andrew Skinner

Cllr Penny Clover

Cllr Margaret Crick

Cllr Rawda Jehanli

Cllr Leo Midwinter

Mayor, ex officio

Chair of the Finance, Governance & Asset Management Committee, ex officio

Abingdon-on-Thames Town Council, 15 May 2024 Membership of council committees and appointments to outside bodies

Community Committee

Cllr Neil Fawcett (Chair)

Cllr Penny Clover (Vice Chair)

Cllr Cheryl Briggs

Cllr Mark Giddins

Cllr Murali Gunarajah

Cllr Pat Lonergan

Cllr Victoria Walker

Mayor, ex officio

Chair of the Finance, Governance & Asset Management Committee, ex officio

Town Infrastructure Committee

Cllr Colin Sanderson (Chair)

Cllr Elio Astone (Vice Chair)

Cllr Penny Clover

Cllr Neil Fawcett

Cllr Mark Giddins

Cllr Murali Gunarajah

Cllr Leo Midwinter

Mayor, ex officio

Chair of the Finance, Governance & Asset Management Committee, ex officio

Planning committee

Cllr Mark Giddins (Chair)

Cllr Elio Astone (Vice Chair)

Cllr Gwyneth Lewis

Cllr Lorraine Oates

Cllr Colin Sanderson

Mayor, ex officio

Chair of the Finance, Governance & Asset Management Committee, ex officio

Personnel sub-committee

Cllr Gwyneth Lewis (Chair)

Cllr Oliver Forder (Vice Chair)

Cllr Neil Fawcett

Cllr Rawda Jehanli

Cllr Pat Lonergan

Cllr Andrew Skinner

Mayor, ex officio

Chair of the Finance, Governance & Asset Management Committee, ex officio

Abingdon-on-Thames Town Council, 15 May 2024 Membership of council committees and appointments to outside bodies

Traffic Advisory Committee (Town Council members)

Cllr Oliver Forder Cllr Tom Greenaway Cllr Pat Lonergan Cllr Murali Gunarajah Mayor, ex officio

This is a joint committee with other authorities and its Chair and Vice-Chair are appointed at the first meeting of the Committee.

Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group

Cllr Andrew Skinner

Sub-committees

To note that under Council and Committee Terms of Reference sub-committees shall be appointed by the relevant committees.

OTHER GROUPS

- (a) The Council should **note** that Standing Committees also have the power to establish Working Groups to assist in the delivery of specific tasks and should be time bound. Committees, Sub-Committees and Working Groups also have the power to co-opt non-Members with the exception of the Finance, Governance and Asset Management Committee.
- (b) Finally, it should be **noted** that the Mayor and the Chair of the Finance, Government and Asset Management Committee are ex-officio voting Members of all Council Standing Committees and ex-officio non-voting Members of all other Council bodies.

Appointments to outside bodies

Organisation

Abingdon Bridge Abingdon & District Twin Towns' Society Abingdon Foyer Stakeholder's Group Albert Memorial (Abingdon) Trust

Representative(s)

Cllr Penny Clover Cllr Lorraine Oates Cllr Murali Gunarajah Cllr Tom Greenaway Cllr Jim Halliday

Abingdon-on-Thames Town Council, 15 May 2024 Membership of council committees and appointments to outside bodies

Earth Trust
Oxfordshire Pensions Forum
Cllr Elio Astone
Parish Transport Representative
River Users' Group (RUG)
Cllr Penny Clover
Radley Lakes Trust
Cllr Elio Astone

Nominative Governors to Christ's Hospital of Abingdon

Governors to Christ's Hospital of Abingdon are usually appointed for the full term of Council, retiring in May 2027, although there has been one change this year. Councillors nominated to be Nominative Governors of Christ's Hospital of Abingdon for 2024/2025 are Cllr Rawda Jehanli, Cllr Colin Sanderson and Cllr Tom Greenaway. The Mayor of Abingdon will be an exofficio nominative governor.

Cherie Carruthers Town Clerk/Chief Executive 3 May 2024